Archive | 8:44 am

Attempting to make a meal (deal) of it

16 Jul

20120716-094429 AM.jpg

One of the downsides of not being paid all the money in the world – along with not having my own private tropical island and a wardrobe full of Mulberry handbags, of course – is relying on packed lunches most days. It gets super-dull unless you’re careful

Last week I picked up an awesome sandwich from Boots: chicken, pea and mint wholemeal wrap. It was light, fresh and gave me an idea. By ‘idea’, of course, I do mean ‘something to attempt to rip off at home’.

20120715-100112 PM.jpg

I slightly adapted a pea and mint dip recipe from Good Food to make the purée – I basically chucked some defrosted peas, a lot of fresh mint, a few glugs of olive oil and a little bit of butter into the food processor and blitzed it. I love my food processor; using it always feels ever-so-slightly like alchemy.

A bit of rocket (not in the Boots version, but I’m borderline obsessed with the stuff) and some lemon and garlic roast chicken (I do love the excuse to do a roast on a Sunday) and it was done. I’m actually quite excited for lunchtime…