Sourdough: a labour of love

24 Sep

20120924-084046 PM.jpg

So, a couple of weeks ago I wrote about the start of my Great Sourdough Experiment. Yesterday, that experiment finally came to fruition.

I’d had to keep the start brewing away for longer than strictly necessary (it seems you can keep it going for a near-indefinite length of time, provided you continue to feed it every few days) simply because of the sheer amount of time involved to make the bread itself. I genuinely hadn’t been home for long enough to allow for the proving until now.

In case you think I’m exaggerating: once kneaded, the dough needs to prove for five or six hours. You then shape it, and prove it for another 10-13 hours. I mixed up the dough at Saturday lunchtime, then shaped it before heading out for the evening. I didn’t put it in the oven until Sunday afternoon – although some of that delay was admittedly a result of a hangover.

20120924-084052 PM.jpg

Still, it proved into some decent-looking loaves. Well, until the recipe told me to turn them upside down. Despite my best efforts (and the help of my housemate), they then ended up looking more like this:

20120924-084058 PM.jpg

Oops. Hey, it’s not all about being pretty, right? Anyway, the finished product didn’t look too bad.

20120924-084103 PM.jpg

Was it worth it, overall? Well, it tastes… alright. It’s certainly not bad, and it works pretty well with some salad and home-made tzatziki as a packed lunch. As a loaf of bread, it’s fine. Is it good enough to warrant two weeks of effort? Maybe not. I’m glad I gave it a go, mind.

Experiment findings? Sometimes delis exist for a reason.

Leave a Reply

