Sourdough scares me a little

2 Sep

20120902-105608 PM.jpg

I love sourdough; I should probably state that first of all. It has a lovely, distinctive tang to it, as well as a nice texture. I just try not to think too hard about how it’s made.

The idea of yeast fermenting for days – and being fed as it does so – creeps me out a little bit. I’m not an especially squeamish eater, but the idea of my food being alive as I prepare it isn’t one that appeals. It’s probably for the best if nobody explains to me the exact processes that go into making alcohol.

Still, I’ve decided to give it a go. The recipe for making the ‘starter’ is more akin to something something written by a mad scientist than by a baker. You mix flour, water and grated apple, then let it ferment and grow in a sealed jar for a few days. You keep adding more to it, then leaving it, for around ten days. It’s a project, if nothing else – and I do like a good project.

20120902-105622 PM.jpg

It didn’t start out well. I read the ingredients list, but only skim-read the first step of the recipe, meaning that I accidentally added a whole kilo of flour instead of the 500g you were meant to start with (the remainder being what needs adding over the coming days). It was only when the consistency looked totally off (so, quite quickly then) that I realised, and was left desperately trying to fish half of the (thankfully still-dry) flour out of the bowl.

My recipe was also pretty emphatic that the apple had to be an organic one. I have no idea if the Braeburns in my cupboard right now are organic – and the supermarket was shut by the time I started on this glorified chemistry experiment – so I’ll just have to keep my fingers crossed that if they’re not, a vigorous wash in the sink was enough.

And hope that the mix doesn’t grow into The Blob.

Leave a Reply

